Friday, May 4, 2012

Author Tim Green



Laura Given is an amazing teacher-librarian in Roseville, Minnesota. She generously agreed to chat with me in a Google document about Tim Green's visit to her school library. I wrote the first part of seven sentences and she finished them. Thanks, Laura, for telling us about your successful author visit.

Getting ready for Tim Green's visit

*My students and I prepared for Tim Green's visit by reading his books and learning about the diverse things he has done in his life. (Many students read and loved his first book Football Genius because it was up for our state book award this year, the Maud Hart Lovelace Award.

*Tim Green emphasized doing the things you love maniacally--in other words "like a maniac."

*My students learned that loving sports and loving books and reading are not mutually exclusive! Tim Green is an amazing role model to break this stereotype.

*I always recommend Tim Green's books to readers who like sports stories with extraordinary characters and action, especially readers who like John Feinstein or Mike Lupica.

*Author visits are important because they are a powerful way to help students make a personal connection to books and reading
.

Tim Green Books - I predict this will soon be an empty display
*Pinch Hit is off the shelves with a hold list--along with all of our other Tim Green books!

*Mr. Schu, you should have asked me about what an amazingly engaging extemporaneous storyteller Tim Green is. My students were enthralled.








Tim Green chats about The Big Time.



Tim Green talks about the similarities in writing and sports.



Laura Given created this book trailer for Football Genius.


Borrow Pinch Hit from your school or public library. Whenever possible, please support independent bookshops.

2 comments:

  1. wow - action and info packed post - love it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Looks like they had a great visit! I adore Tim Green. He is such a class act and has a great message to send to kids. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete